PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem with Terminal Window

catalina0029
January 8th, 2011, 08:41 PM
Greetings everyone,
I am a super newbie here. I installed ubuntu 9.10 a while ago. I've been messing around with it for some time. I recently upgraded to 10.04 ls and it was a mess. I had a problem with the whole grub rescue mess. So I un-installed it and formatted the hard drive.
I re-installed 9.10 and everything is great again, with one exception.
When I type (control-alt-F2) to open a terminal window, I have a black screen with a white blinking underline....and that's all. I can see when I type my user name it moves to the next line and I type my password, I think it is at my catalina0029@c-25:~$ but all I see is a blinking underline. How can I get this to show the characters? It worked before I reloaded it. It has to be just a text color thing, but I'm lost.
Thanks,
Dan

star123
January 8th, 2011, 08:54 PM
Greetings everyone,
I am a super newbie here. I installed ubuntu 9.10 a while ago. I've been messing around with it for some time. I recently upgraded to 10.04 ls and it was a mess. I had a problem with the whole grub rescue mess. So I un-installed it and formatted the hard drive.
I re-installed 9.10 and everything is great again, with one exception.
When I type (control-alt-F2) to open a terminal window, I have a black screen with a white blinking underline....and that's all. I can see when I type my user name it moves to the next line and I type my password, I think it is at my catalina0029@c-25:~$ but all I see is a blinking underline. How can I get this to show the characters? It worked before I reloaded it. It has to be just a text color thing, but I'm lost.
Thanks,
Dan

first of all to open terminal you need a combination ctr+alt+t
well this is the combination in 10.10.. also wen u type a password the cursor doesnt move in linux for security purposes it blinks at 1 position

catalina0029
January 8th, 2011, 09:08 PM