PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Partition Help - new partition?

dBuster
January 8th, 2011, 01:25 PM
I am a NOOB when it comes to partitioning with Ubuntu. When I originally setup my pc I had Vista and 9.04. Didn't even think of a seperate /home partition at that time. Now I am wanting to clean install to 10.04 but not lose anything hence the desire for the /home partition. I have read and understand how to move the home to the new partition just location on the drive is what I am concerned about.

So far I have reduced the Vista partition and freed up some space, currently unallocated space. Where it currently sits, do I just create a new primary partition ext3? Primary partition is my only option in gparted, granted I am not booting off of a live cd though. Should I boot off of a live cd and create what? Will the location it is in cause me booting issues with my current setup?

I do have clonezilla and plan on doing an image of the drive, preferably after I get my NAS drive up and running this next week when it arrives. I would like to get the /home partition created before then if possible.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

http://ubuntuforums.org/picture.php?albumid=1154&pictureid=7298

Ekeluo
January 8th, 2011, 02:07 PM
As long as your Vista boots fine after the reduction (though I don't know much you can do if it doesn't), you can create your new home partition there (ext3 or ext4 will do fine, as will a primary or logical partition). The grub update should handle any changes to partition nomenclature(for lack of a better word). Be careful, as with all things partitioning!

dBuster
January 8th, 2011, 02:16 PM