PDA

View Full Version : [other] IT technician needs advice on some things

uberlube
January 5th, 2011, 05:45 AM
hello all! Ive been using linux for about the last 5 years and within the last year i decided to get serious about my love for IT and got myself A+ certified. Since then I landed myself a job as a resident technician fixing and setting up computers. My employers are great and they have given me the flexibility of using linux and open source tools, alongside windows, to do my job as i see fit.

this has gone quite well for me but there are a few tasks that i need to complete on a regular basis that give me grief while using ubuntu. the first that comes to mind is when im doing a backup of a customers hard drive and all they want is their photos. the first thing that comes to mind is to do a recursive scan and copy of all photo extension such as .jpg and .png so simple right? well whenever i try to accomplish this using nautilus it usually takes forever to finish finding them all and if i try to copy them to another medium, it usually ends in a crash. im not using weak hardware either so we can rule that out. i dont get any joy using programs like catfish either. my next idea was to accomplish this via command line. from what i know about bash i came up with this command:

sudo cp -R *.jpg /media/disk

this looks reasonable to me to recursively search from the working directory but it doesnt accomplish what i need. am i going about it the wrong way?

anyways id would appreciate some relevent info or suggestions on how i can accomplish this without having to rely on windows. also if u have any suggestions for great tech tools id love to try them out. so far these are my favs:

parted magic (best toolset EVER)
trinity recovery disk
system rescue CD

thanks for taking the time to read this and i hope the new year finds you well d-(^.')z

uberlube

(ps id like to keep this thread going from work in case i have any more related questions)

tshirtdr1