PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] mounting /home

eli1000
January 2nd, 2011, 12:30 AM
Hi

I am a new ubuntu user and an absolute beginner. I had installed ubuntu with wubi in parallel with my windows and it had been fine. Today, I got an error message at the login "An error occurred while mounting /home" and I can't login. When I go to the recovery mode, the /home directory seems to be empty! Can someone help me out? Have I lost all my data?:(
When I try to mount it manually, I get: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop1, missing codepage or helper program, or other error...

Thanks in advance!
Eli

blazemore
January 2nd, 2011, 12:47 AM
Hi. In order to help you can you please go back to recovery mode and type

cat /etc/fstab

I know you'll have to type it manually so just post the line that includes the word /home

What antivirus are you running on Windows, by the way?

eli1000
January 3rd, 2011, 01:11 AM
I'm running AntiVir on Windows,
and the fstab line is:
/host/ubuntu/disks/home.disk /home ext3 loop 0 0

Thank you so much!

eli1000
January 5th, 2011, 07:23 PM
I uninstalled the last application I installed on ubuntu (which was wine) and now I can login with skipping /home mount, but my /home is still empty and it seems like I have lost everything :( Does data recovery work or is this a mounting problem?
Please help, anyone :(

bcbc
January 5th, 2011, 07:55 PM
So you have created a separate virtual disk for home. Likely that is no longer in your /ubuntu/disks directory or if it is, it has some sort of error.

What you should do:
Run check disk on Windows - whatever 'drive' you installed Ubuntu (I'll assume c: ). So go to My computer, right click C:, Properties, Tools, Check disk for errors, automatically fix. If it's C: you'll have to reboot to complete.

Then confirm that the home.disk is still there: c:\ubuntu\disks\home.disk