PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Newb - a few minor annoyances...

~Maxx
December 31st, 2010, 02:48 PM
Hi folks. I just got Lubuntu running on this ancient Compaq Deskpro. It's performing fantastically. Even Firefox is running better than I would have thought. I'm brand new to Linux though (toyed around with Xubuntu a few years ago, but lost interest), and I've got a few minor things I can't seem to find answers to. Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction...

First off, I accidentally deleted the shutdown icon on the right side of the (bottom) panel or "taskbar", and I can't seem to get it back. I'm fairly sure it was listed as an "application launch bar", but there doesn't seem to be a shutdown option under that heading. In fact I can't find it anywhere in the "add/remove panel items" options. Any ideas? Along the same lines I'd love to have a "reboot" icon as well if anyone knows how to do that.

I'm also looking for a way to get the pc to actually power down when the shutdown option is selected. Currently it just logs you out of Lubuntu and stays on a screen that says something to the effect of "system halted". Is there a BIOS setting I'm missing?

Lastly - I'd like to find a way to change the NumLock state at startup. I never use the upper row keys, and it's rather annoying to start typing passwords, etc... only to find that the number pad is rendered all but useless when the system boots. I seem to recall having the same problem with Xubuntu. Not sure if I ever found a way to fix it.

I'm sure I'll be back with other things as I learn my way around, but these are the annoyances that I can't seem to find answers to on the web. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Bluenoser81
December 31st, 2010, 02:55 PM