PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cant play dvds - region 4

coward54
December 31st, 2010, 02:32 PM
Hello newbie here. Running Ubuntu 10.10 in region 4 (australia)

I can't seem to play DVDs. Movie player says it needs the right package or something, then I've been here, https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu#Adding%20the%20Repositories

I added the Medibuntu repository at the above page, but it still says I dont have the right packages. Is there something I'm doing wrong do I have to install something in the command line to get it working etc?

laithbsoul
December 31st, 2010, 02:37 PM
well I'm not sure as i've never tried to play a region 4 dvd but have you tried vlc.

owiknowi
December 31st, 2010, 02:43 PM
as far as i know the region code is a hardware thingy.

there must be a tool, believe for windos, to make your dvd player regio code free (use at own risk).
search on the web for remove regio code (brand pc or dvd player).

a workaround could be to copy the dvd to your hard disk and let the program remove the regio code as stored on your dvd.
search the web for rip dvd

hope this helps

cascade9
December 31st, 2010, 02:51 PM
You actually dont need to add the medibuntu repo-

Installing libdvdcss

Legal Warning: Check with your local laws to make sure usage of libdvdcss2 would be legal in your area.

Ubuntu 9.04, 9.10, 10.04 (i386, amd64) and 10.10

Install the libdvdread4 package (no need to add third party repositories) via Synaptic or command line:

sudo apt-get install libdvdread4

Then open a terminal window and execute:

sudo /usr/share/doc/libdvdread4/install-css.shRebooting may be necessary.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RestrictedFormats/PlayingDVDs

coward54
December 31st, 2010, 02:53 PM
Ok, but the dvd was a validly rented dvd, coded for region 4, so there's nothing underhanded I'm trying to do - not trying to bypass coding etc, just want to play the dvd I rented. Find it surprising that ubuntu can't play these dvds.

coward54