PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I have a dilema with partitions.

jink2002
December 31st, 2010, 09:48 AM
Hi there. I'm new to using Ubuntu, and, quite frankly, I'm a bit of a fish out of water, being a Windows user for so long. However, I've been doing pretty well getting the hang of applications and troubleshooting until this happened. I originally had a Windows XP partition on this laptop. Then I used an application to install Ubuntu from Windows onto a new partition, therefore making two total. After a while, the XP partition became corrupted and I was no longer able to access it. Now, everything I do is on Linux (and I'm liking it a lot lol). The only problem is I've now run out of space (I'm now down to about half a gig). My harddrive is (I believe) 250 GB, but I only made this partition a little over 30 GB. My question is how do I change my partition size, or better yet, delete the Windows partition all together and have Ubuntu take advantage of all 250 GB?

Sorry if this has been asked before, and for giving so much background information. However, I'm very new to Linux and I wanted to make sure that I wasn't leaving anything important out.

Thank you.

Rubi1200
December 31st, 2010, 09:53 AM
Hi and welcome to the forums :-)

From the terminal in Ubuntu:

sudo parted -l

(lowercase L not 1)

Post the output here please

Thanks

sprintexec
December 31st, 2010, 09:55 AM
Hi,

Which version of ubuntu are you using? This may make a difference to the suggested way forward. The version I'm using has a disk utility under the preferences tab which I believe can be used to alter the size of the partitions. However before you get into any of this I'd read around, take soundings and back up your data. Good luck, AJ

jink2002
December 31st, 2010, 10:00 AM
Wow, fast reply, haha. Not used to this on other forums. I HAVE FOUND MY FAMILY

*Ahem*....sorry. Anyway, Rubi1200, this is the output:

Model: ATA WDC WD3200BEKT-6 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 320GB