PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Which flavour to squeeze life out of an old PC

ElectricMonk73
December 29th, 2010, 11:13 PM
Hi Everybody! Sorry about a question that y'all have probably seen many variations of... But I'm new to Linux and need help choosing the best version for my computer. I have installed Ubuntu 10.10 and have been using it for about a month now, I really like it, but my graphics card is an ATI Radeon x300, so i have been experiencing some performance issues - and as far as i can tell by reading other posts in the forum, there is nothing i can do to improve things with 10.10. So would rolling back my version of Ubuntu to 8.x and installing the propriety ATI drivers be a good idea, or is it unsafe to use such an old version of Ubuntu? Or maybe there is a different type of Linux that would work better with my car? Or should i just keep with Ubuntu 10.10? Cheers.

XeonBloomfield
December 29th, 2010, 11:25 PM
Did you disable visual effects?

ElectricMonk73
December 29th, 2010, 11:30 PM
I'm sorry, i should have been a bit more specific. The bad performance is when I'm trying to play games, or use something like Blender or Inkscape. generally speaking other applications are fine. Visual effects don't seem to make an effect one way or the other.

XeonBloomfield
December 29th, 2010, 11:36 PM
Can you tell us yours PC specs? Specially which processor you have.

Small 3D performance is probably normal for this graphic card. Sorry for that, but it is not a graphic card "monster".

davidmohammed
December 29th, 2010, 11:37 PM
would be useful to know the specs of your PC - processor, RAM, diskspace etc.

ElectricMonk73
December 29th, 2010, 11:43 PM