PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to access memory card in ubuntu??

Oscarbunson
December 29th, 2010, 01:12 PM
I am sure this is a stupid question, but ....

Have downloaded ubuntu (because my linux lite died). Very pleased so far with ubuntu, but I can't figure out how to access files or photos from a memory card. Just can't seem to go to anything that even shows its existence. Any help would be appreciated. I'm a linux novice so an 'idiots guide' would be most useful! Thanks. :)

audiomick
December 29th, 2010, 01:22 PM
You are not clear about whether you have actually installed Ubuntu, or have just downloaded and are using it in the live CD mode. I assume you have actually installed.

When you plug a removable drive in, an entry should appear in Nautilus in the side pane, and in your places menu.

In my screenshot, the SD card from my camera can be seen as "4.1GB Dateisystem"

Oscarbunson
December 29th, 2010, 01:31 PM
When you plug a removable drive in, an entry should appear in Nautilus in the side pane, and in your places menu.

I don't know what Nautilus is? I have some icons down the left hand side of the screen but I've just put the memory card in but nothing has changed down the left side. ??

Also where do I find the places menu?

I have actually installed ubuntu.

Thanks.

audiomick
December 29th, 2010, 01:38 PM
Nautilus is the file manager. It is the thing that opens when you, for instance, go to your home folder or something.

Which version exactly of Ubuntu have you installed? From your description, I think it may be the Netbook Remix? If this is the case, I can start my netbook and have a look where the things turn up on it. ;)

The "places" menu, in a normal Ubuntu install, is in the task bar at the top of the screen on the left.

Oscarbunson
December 29th, 2010, 01:53 PM
My icons on the left don't seem to alter. The only addition to these was when I once used open office.