View Full Version : [ubuntu] Amazon EC2 SSH terminal console hangs

December 23rd, 2010, 03:33 AM
Preface: I have Googled around on this problem, but I'm a bit of a newb, and perhaps don't know the right search terms....

I've just created a new Amazon EC2 instance using a public Ubuntu image (10.10). (I'm using 10.04 locally).

When I SSH into my running instance, I can kindof navigate around OK, but when I try to do anything that requires dumping a bunch of characters to the console window, the console totally hangs (locks up). Ctrl+C doesn't work.

For instance, I can't do a directory listing if the directory contains too much stuff, and I can't cat a file if the file's too big. However, I can redirect the output of such a command to a file, and the file gets created correctly. Here's a command that consistently hangs the terminal:

> ls /proc/

Why is it hanging when I try to output more than, say, 1000 characters to the console window?

Much thanks to anyone who can help!!

December 23rd, 2010, 07:42 PM
interesting! can you check if there's packet loss to your instance. Try pinging it like

ping -c 30 <public-ip-of-instance>

December 23rd, 2010, 11:51 PM
Thanks for the assistance! So, I did what you suggested, but sadly, I think we're up against non-deterministic software... my least favorite kind.

The external ping results caused my local terminal to lockup, requiring a (successful) ^C:

> ping ec2-184-73-45-29.compute-1.amazonaws.com
PING ec2-184-73-45-29.compute-1.amazonaws.com ( 56(84) bytes of data.
--- ec2-184-73-45-29.compute-1.amazonaws.com ping statistics ---
8 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 7002ms

However, the previous symptom has gone away! I can now do something as crazy as a recursive directory listing starting at "/" with no problems at all. What the heck?!?! Well, I guess I don't care if I can't ping it, so long as I can SSH in and play around without fear of a lockup.