PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] FTP Issue



PHANTOM X
December 22nd, 2010, 03:50 AM
I setup a ftp server with Apache Tomcat and Webmin, but I'm having some problems with people connecting to it. It works fine on my end, but others are getting "This page cannot be displayed.". Checked my phone(needed something outside the home network)and comes up with Not Found The requested url at http://192.168.1.43/ was not found on this server. Apache Server at 192.168.1.43 Port 8090. Disabled ufw which didn't fix the problem.

wojox
December 22nd, 2010, 04:03 AM
Do you have a router and have you set up port forwarding?

slooow
December 22nd, 2010, 04:03 AM
Have you checked if your router has the corresponding port open to connect from the internet?

amauk
December 22nd, 2010, 04:11 AM
192.168 is your LAN IP address (internal only)

You need to use your external (ISP provided) IP address
You also need to set your router to forward ports 20 & 21 to the correct internal IP

PHANTOM X
December 22nd, 2010, 04:12 AM
Our router is isp owned. I think it has port 80 open. Not sure on 8090. :) I'll call in the morning.:)

Edit: Port 80 is opened. Shields up shows up to 10055 so it's probably closed. Most are closed

amauk
December 22nd, 2010, 04:15 AM
you can find your external IP address in a number of ways, but one easy one is here
http://www.whatismyip.org/

PHANTOM X
December 22nd, 2010, 04:39 AM
Just made a quick decsion on getting a router Thursday/Friday as I don't want to have any problems with our ISP on enabling ports and would like control in my hands. I'll check back around then on my status.:)

PHANTOM X
December 28th, 2010, 10:10 PM
Think I got it. Can I get someone to check this on their end? Thanks!:D


Edit Now it's not working on my end.](*,)

Edit: Link removed. PC going in the Recycle Bin....

amauk
December 28th, 2010, 11:15 PM
A reverse DNS lookup on that IP indicates that it's a dynamic IP (meaning it changes, based on a rota)

If you want to run a server on your home connection, either get a static IP or use one of those hostname routing things (dyndns / noip / etc.)

PHANTOM X
December 29th, 2010, 05:54 AM
I gave up on that pc. Old and seemed to have a lot of issues. Changed the new one to static(haven't got the external ip yet).



#This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.2
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.100
broadcast 255.255.255.255
gateway 192.168.1.1

PHANTOM X
December 29th, 2010, 06:23 AM
External IP is http://66.207.24.35