PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Samba , PDC: windows xp unable to join the domain

dummy4ever
December 18th, 2010, 11:30 AM
Hello Guys I'm a newbie here and obviously this is my first post. I've been configuring a PDC using samba I used this tutorial https://help.ubuntu.com/10.04/serverguide/C/samba-dc.html as reference. It seems all went well during the installation and configuration not until when I try to join a windows machine to the domain.

Scenario: When the authentication dialog box prompts the username and password of the domain administrator. I supply root as username and its corresponding password. Then I will prompt an error "The user name could not be found. But, I have noticed that when I supply a wrong password of root the it will prompt "Login failure: unknown user name or bad password. It seems that the windows machine was able to recognize the account somehow.

Any help would be appreciated.

Tnx.

dummy4ever
December 18th, 2010, 11:54 AM
Very funny.. Just a few minutes after my first post I was able to resolved the problem.

In case someone wants to know, this is what i did.

vi /etc/nsswitch.conf

change the line
hosts: files dns
to
hosts: files wins dns

and

execute this command

echo "root = administrator" > /etc/samba/smbusers

thats it.

tanlenhat
December 18th, 2010, 04:57 PM
hello dummy!
I am also trying to build a DC with samba&ldap on ubuntu 10.04 for windows xp to join in but I got an error when login to LDAP server and the message for error is: "ldap_bind: Invalid credentials (49)"
My scenario is based on Ubuntu server guide 10.04 like you.
Firstly I install openldap server, populating,authentication, everything run well
After that I install samba, config openldap server,everything still run ok, but when I come to this step:

Finally, using the ldapadd utility, add the new schema to the directory: ldapadd -x -D cn=admin,cn=config -W -f /tmp/cn\=samba.ldif