PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost'

najmul002
December 14th, 2010, 10:51 PM
I am new to ubuntu terminal. I have installed mysql-server, but i have no access. I have set the password during installation process. Please help me..

Used command:
mysql -u root -p

error message:
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

RAM: 1.5GB
processor:Intel pentiumD 3.00GHz

Joeb454
December 14th, 2010, 11:07 PM
Is the MySQL server running?

Also, it sounds simple, but are you sure you entered the password correctly?

stlsaint
December 14th, 2010, 11:17 PM
When you set the password at installation are you sure you set it for root and not another user?

If you set it for another user than you need to use:

mysql -u username -p mysql
then enter the password when prompted, OR :

To setup root password for first time, use mysqladmin command at shell
prompt as follows:

mysqladmin -u root password NEWPASSWORD
However if you want to change (or update) a root password, then you need
to use following command:

mysqladmin -u root -p oldpassword newpassword

maninthemoon
December 17th, 2010, 05:38 AM
I have the same issue. I am using Ubuntu 10.10. I have found this question asked all over the Internet in various forums, and it is never answered. A hundred different people ask, is the server started, or other obvious things. Then they suggest all kinds of wild and crazy hacker stuff that should never have to be done to begin with.

I followed the instructions at https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ApacheMySQLPHP and used tasksel to install lamp-server. The instructions don't say anything about needing to do a whole bunch of arcane hacks just to make it work.

I have started the server. I have tried all sorts of suggested things. The bottom line is that no matter what I do, typing:
mysql -u root
results in:
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO)