PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to locate packages

elkingrey
December 13th, 2010, 04:32 AM
Hello,

I am a total noob in the process of trying to build my own server. I installed Ubuntu 10.10 but when I did that I didn't have the computer hooked up with an ethernet or have any internet connection. During the installation process it was unable to set up DHCP, so I figured I would just do that later, somehow.

Anyways, I recently hooked up an ethernet cable from the server to another computer, which has internet.

I've been slowly working my way through the Server Documentation and am on the Networking chapter. It has given me the commands to install wireless-tools, ethtool, dhcp3 server and I've also tried to install gedit. Every time it gives me the error:

E: Unable to locate package XXX

When I ran the sudo lshw -class network command I find that it recognizes both an ethernet interface as well as a wireless interface(my wireless adapter). BOTH of them say *-network DISABLED.

My goal is to enable both of those, but I am assuming I need to be able to locate the packages first. I installed the server edition using a USB pendrive. I still have the files on the pendrive, but I don't know how to make the server locate those files. I'm guessing it wants to access the installation files to locate the packages to install.

Again, I'm a TOTAL noob, so if you can help me I would be very appreciative. But I'll need to be baby stepped through the process. Thank you!

Vegan
December 13th, 2010, 04:36 AM
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

than you can try install packages again

elkingrey
December 13th, 2010, 06:22 AM
The updating failed to fetch and the upgrading did nothing, probably as a result.

I currently have no internet connection running to that computer. The wireless adapter is plugged in, but never recognized and my ethernet has never been recognized either. So, do I need to get it hooked up to the internet before I can do anything? If so, how?