PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless Adapter not working with Ubuntu

Skeeter7
December 9th, 2010, 05:22 AM
I am new to Linux and Ubuntu. So far so good.
My TRENDnet TEW 424UB Wireless Adapter does not show up in the network window. The light does work while using Ubuntu but it goes on during Windows. How do I fix this?

walt.smith1960
December 9th, 2010, 07:52 AM
What hardware version number? H/W 2.x use an SIS chipset and it apparently only works with NDISwrapper. I have a H/W 3.1 and it has never failed to connect with different machines and Ubuntu versions. H/W 3.x uses a RealTek 8187B chipset (I think) which is supported natively. If you're using Network Manager, make sure 'enable networking' and 'enable wireless' are checked. I've had Network Manager deselect 'enable networking' for no apparent reason. I hope this helps.

Skeeter7
December 9th, 2010, 05:00 PM
What hardware version number? H/W 2.x use an SIS chipset and it apparently only works with NDISwrapper. I have a H/W 3.1 and it has never failed to connect with different machines and Ubuntu versions. H/W 3.x uses a RealTek 8187B chipset (I think) which is supported natively. If you're using Network Manager, make sure 'enable networking' and 'enable wireless' are checked. I've had Network Manager deselect 'enable networking' for no apparent reason. I hope this helps.

Thanks you , but im alittle confused.
In the Network Manager I don't see an option for wireless, could that be the problem?
Nothing appears in the Network connections window.

Wireless Adapter TRENDnet TEW-424UB H/W:V2

I am also unable to figure out how to see my PC hardware specs in Ubuntu.
In windows I would have just right clicked on My computer and hit properties, how do you do this here?
and yes IM new to this so bare with me, LOL thanks

bkratz
December 9th, 2010, 06:09 PM
Thanks you , but im alittle confused.
In the Network Manager I don't see an option for wireless, could that be the problem?