PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] New User Dell Inspiron 4100 w/Motorola WN825G

mscuerman
December 2nd, 2010, 04:22 PM
I did a search and didn't find anything, but am new here, so please redirect me if I've missed something.

I have never used Linux before - total noob. :-/

I have just installed Ubuntu 10.10 on my old Dell Inspiron 4100 (PIII-1Ghz, 512MB, 30GB) which has a Motorola WN825G PCMCIA network card. I've searched and tried to fumble my way through several online guides to using this card, but fear I may have missed something (obviously, since it still doesn't work) out of sheer noobitude and could use some guidance.

What I have done (I think!):
- Found and installed ndiswrapper-common-1.56, ndiswrapper utils-1.9 and extracted the windows driver package for the NIC. Extracted ndis packages and did "make install"
- Copied all the files (except the .exe files) that came with the driver to the laptop
- Ran (via Terminal) #sudo ndiswrapper -i <path/to/driver>/bcmwl5.inf (also tried bcmwl5a.inf)
- Edited /etc/network/interfaces as described in this post http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=132703

What is happening now:
- Umm..not too much. I can go into System>Administration>Network Tools and configure the Wireless Interface (wlan0), but now I have two items in the wireless tab - Wireless connection 1 and WRTG54G (the name I assigned to the connection at some point)
- The wireless router is configured with WPA/PSK and works with my Windows box

Points of concern:
- I had to assign the MAC address (which I kinda found when I was doing one of the commands in Terminal - not sure which one) for the NIC myself. Shouldn't it have determined that automatically?
- Is the PCMCIA slot even active? The power and link lights are not illuminated on the NIC
- I also entered the MAC address of the wireless router - not sure why, but it seemed to be recommended in the post referenced above, so I did it.