PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Video problem and VC upgrade question

HC007
December 1st, 2010, 05:06 AM
Hello, All. First, I'm new to Ubuntu. Yeah, probably *extremely* common here for an opener. I'm sorry.

I have a PC that is about 4 years old, maybe 3. It is used, something I picked up in the PC support business. It has an ASUS A8V-VM motherboard with 2 GB of RAM. I am have the system to run motion control for a CNC router/mill. The problem I'm having is that the video on screen is slow as hell (a technical term). I can move windows by dragging the title bar and I have ghosted images of them in the periphery. It's like the video isn't drawing fast enough to erase the ghost images until I stop. Screen pops and changes seem very slow. I'm using the built-in video card, a VIA K8M890+ VT 8251 as told to me by the ASUS website.

The processor is an AMD Athlon 64 3500+, according to the System Monitor. I'll grant you that the system is older but I always believed that Linux ran faster than Windows on a similar system and this system originally had Windows on it and it never had video latency like what I'm seeing. I have tried to see if there was a way to upgrade the video card driver but I'm a Windows guy and have very little experience with Linux, Ubuntu especially. What can I do to speed up the video on this thing? The motherboard supports a PCI-E x1 and a PCI-E x16 slot, plus PCI. I probably have a couple of old Matrox PCI video cards somewhere, but nothing more than PCI (not the little slots I see on the motherboard).