PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] wireless hp printer

ornothaloapq
November 29th, 2010, 05:52 PM
has anyone else had trouble connecting to a hp officejet 6500A plus? i am a beginner when it comes to wireless printing, any help is appreciated.

TBABill
November 29th, 2010, 06:12 PM
I go to the printer utility, select add printer, select find network printers, wait, click the printer found, follow the screen prompts.

Where is the process failing for you? Or did you take other steps to configure?

ornothaloapq
November 29th, 2010, 06:15 PM
under find network printer, it asks me to type something into the host field. im not sure what i should type here. this is a printer shared between multiple people and i dont know much about it.i could probably look at the manual if you think it will help

TBABill
November 29th, 2010, 06:37 PM
No you don't have to do all that. Just click "find network printer" and just let it sit there. It is scanning the network although it gives no indication it is doing anything at all. Once it finds it the printer model will actually show up right above where you clicked to start looking for printers. Just let the system run and don't click anything else till it comes up with your printer. Make sure the printer is powered on during the process.

ornothaloapq
November 29th, 2010, 06:45 PM
thanks, i dont think i would have found that without your help but it says there is no printer found at that adress. unfortunatly i am back at square one.

TBABill
November 29th, 2010, 06:50 PM
"At that address"?? You should enter nothing into any block, but rather just let the system search. Unless, of course, that is the default response if it does not see a network printer.

Could it be that you are using a printer that is hooked to another computer? Does a Windows wireless computer print on the network, or did it work previously? If it is configured on the network correctly it should see it and identify it as an HP, as well as offer to install the driver.