PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cant Mount Help



hunter99507
November 29th, 2010, 10:48 AM
I was messing around and did something. Now i cannot mount my data partition. I used to be able to click on the partition and it would mount in 2 to 3 seconds. Now when i do that it tells me i need root privileges. How do i go back to the way things used to be?

hunter99507
November 29th, 2010, 10:49 AM
This is the error i get

Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 1: helper failed with:
mount: only root can mount /dev/sdb5 on /media/sdb5

Verbeck
November 29th, 2010, 11:05 AM
try from a terminal

sudo mount -aalso, if the drive is set in fstab, it'll mount at login

hunter99507
November 29th, 2010, 11:27 AM
That didnt work. I can still mount my windows partition no problem, but not this data partition.

hunter99507
November 29th, 2010, 11:37 AM
I fixed it. I had additional entrys in fstab, so i deleted them and now its fixed.

amjjawad
November 29th, 2010, 12:47 PM
I know you fixed it but this (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=872197) might be helpful in the future ;)

hunter99507
November 30th, 2010, 06:21 PM
I know you fixed it but this (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=872197) might be helpful in the future ;)

Thanks amjjawad, this is easy. I wish i started with this.

amjjawad
November 30th, 2010, 06:24 PM
Thanks amjjawad, this is easy. I wish i started with this.

You welcome mate and as they say: Never too late :)