PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help installing the newest BroadCom STA Driver (begginner)

Emmanuel Alvarado
November 29th, 2010, 01:32 AM
Hello,
i am new to Ubuntu 10.10, i just recently recieved a Mini CQ10-525DX with a Broadcom 4313 wlan card. when loading ubuntu i notice it says that it supports 4311 4312, so i looked on the broadcom website and they have a newer update with 4313 coverage. I downloaded it but do not know how to install it. If someone could help me i would be very grateful, and if possible make it as simple as possible since i am beginning to learn the OS.
Thank You

uncaspi
November 29th, 2010, 01:52 AM
Open a terminal and rename existing wl driver.
sudo mv /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/wl.ko <space>/lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/wl.original.ko
Your tarball file are probably hybrid-portsrc_x86-32_v5.60.246.6.tar.gz
Make a new directory mkdir driver and cp hybrid-portsrc_x86-32_v5.60.246.6.tar.gz ./driver
then issue cd driver

Unpack the file tar zxvf hybrid-portsrc_x86-32_v5.60.246.6.tar.gz

sudo make
sudo make install
sudo depmod -a
sudo modprobe wl

and thats it. Connect via network-manager

Emmanuel Alvarado
November 29th, 2010, 02:13 AM
I am not completely sure what im suppose to do so, i open terminal then the first thing i do is type:
sudo mv /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/wl.ko <space>/lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/wl.original.ko <== exactly like that? or does uname mean my computer name which is emmanuel? and is <space> required? i know it sounds silly but i have little knowledge on open source programming but i would love to learn

Then my Tarbil file is hybrid-portsrc_x86-32_v5.60.246.6.tar.gz

To make a new directory do i have to use Terminal also and insert: mkdir driver, and cp hybrid-portsrc_x86-32_v5.60.246.6.tar.gz ./driver respectively?