PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How Can I upgrade from 10.4 to 10.10

Mindswap1
November 28th, 2010, 11:47 PM
Hi guys I'm really new to Ubuntu ( 3 days of total experience ) And I was hoping to get Ubuntu 10.10 onto my desktop. I really don't want to have to back everything up to a hard drive or flash drive and then freshly install, because I don't have anything I can back it up into ( my usb broke.)How can I safely upgrade to 10.10 or other future releases without making Ubuntu system files a mess. ( for example Windows had the option to just upgrade to the new OS without deleting things on the hard drive, but however caused it to bug a lot, and have a really fragmented registry.) I was hoping Ubuntu had a way to upgrade without causing something like that to happen.

lobralleo
November 29th, 2010, 12:07 AM
Hi and welcome to Ubuntu! :)

You can upgrade to 10.10 via Software Updates: go to System -> Administration -> Software Updates and you will find an active button saying "New Release Avaliable" or something similar (I can't check right now, sorry about that). It should be enough to click on it and the upgrade will start and complete automatically.

As always, backup all your important data before upgrading: it's safe enough, but the occasional glitch in the process is possible.

The whole process will take a while (possibly several hours, depending on your connection and computer specs).

Hope this helps!

Autodave
November 29th, 2010, 12:10 AM