PDA

View Full Version : New user questions

yeh
November 28th, 2010, 08:37 PM
Sorry, I'm new to ubuntu and there's an awful lot to learn, so starting with the most important question...

Where's the file location for the application menu? Like there's a windows folder in which you can edit and determine what stuff goes into the start menu (or you can just drag the shortcut into the start menu). You can't drag anything onto the ubuntu netbook applications menu; you can't left click and determine shortcuts. It is, in my humble opinion, good-looking but not very useful if I can't edit it, put stuff in it, take stuff off it, etc.

What's the format for text files in ubuntu? Running a .txt file in ubuntu shows that it isn't the native text file format (I can open it, but it always says that it is an executable text file when it obviously isn't).

What's the format for executable files in ubuntu? .exe is the format for windows applications. I know its not .deb because .deb is just used to install the program; its not the format of the program itself.

Thx for your answers.

Megaptera
November 28th, 2010, 08:56 PM
There are mixed views about the Netbook Edition & Unity - that I think you are referring to. You can select Desktop Session just as you log on - look towards bottom right of screen. Personally I prefer the Gnome desktop on my laptop.

If you want to run Windows progs (.exe) under Ubuntu you need to run them through Wine:
http://psychocats.net/ubuntu/wine

To edit what runs at startup, go to Control Centre > Startup Applications.

kaldor
November 28th, 2010, 09:00 PM
Even though I've been on Linux for years, I still might be wrong about this since I rarely encounter it...

I think that .bin (binary) files are the equivelent of executables on Linux.

chaanakya_chiraag
November 28th, 2010, 09:02 PM