PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No connection with wireless network anymore

BCMerlin
November 28th, 2010, 11:18 AM
Since a few days i'm running Ubuntu on my laptop, so I'm very new in this. First day I had a wireless internet connection, but since yesterday I am not able to use wireless anymore and I don know why. Now I have a wired connection, but that's not my wish.

When I click in the icon above it tells me: "device not ready (firmware missing)".

Please tell me what to do.

mikewhatever
November 28th, 2010, 12:28 PM
Can you post the output of the following from Applications->Accessories->Terminal.

sudo lshw -class network

The output should show the wireless model, and whether or not the module is loaded.

BCMerlin
November 29th, 2010, 12:12 PM
Can you post the output of the following from Applications->Accessories->Terminal.

sudo lshw --class networkThe output should show the wireless model, and whether or not the module is loaded.

Here it is:

Hardware Lister (lshw) - B.02.14
usage: lshw [-format] [-options ...]
lshw -version

-version print program version (B.02.14)

format can be
-html output hardware tree as HTML
-xml output hardware tree as XML
-short output hardware paths
-businfo output bus information

options can be
-class CLASS only show a certain class of hardware
-C CLASS same as '-class CLASS'
-c CLASS same as '-class CLASS'
-disable TEST disable a test (like pci, isapnp, cpuid, etc. )
-enable TEST enable a test (like pci, isapnp, cpuid, etc. )
-quiet don't display status
-sanitize sanitize output (remove sensitive information like serial numbers, etc.)
-numeric output numeric IDs (for PCI, USB, etc.)

bazzal1941
November 29th, 2010, 12:41 PM
I think to give mikewhatever the information he needs you only need a single hyphen in front of class.

sudo lshw -class network

BCMerlin
November 29th, 2010, 12:50 PM
I think to give mikewhatever the information he needs you only need a single hyphen in front of class.

sudo lshw -class network