PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mount point of external hard drive

Jebus721
November 27th, 2010, 07:50 PM
I recently purchased a 2 TB external hard drive and wanted to format it. Being a linux newbie, I wasn't sure the best way to go about this, so, I turned to the internet.
This (http://www.ehow.com/how_1000631_hard-drive-linux.html) is the page that I followed to format my 2 TB, making one 1 TB partition and leaving the rest as blank space, for future installations of Debian or the like.
Now, after restarting, it is all mounting perfectly fine, except that it is mounting with an odd name (92bccb85-37be-4ca1-b0bf-70c90cfda755) that I really would prefer not typing in every time... Is there any way to fix this? It is mounting under /media, just for clarification, but it is not in my fstab, and it is always that same name.

Fafler
November 27th, 2010, 07:59 PM
Yes. Just enter the first letter in the name and press tab. Bash will finish as much of the word as possible. Every one should know that trick.

Back to what you really asked about. I'm pretty sure, that if you give the partition a label, it's going to mount it under that name instead of the current method, which is based on UUID.

First type

df
to establish the device name of the drive. It's probably /dev/sdb1 or similar.

Now change the label with

tune2fs -L newlabel /dev/sdb1

Change newlabel and /dev/sdb1 to the actual name you want and the right devicename.

coffee412
November 27th, 2010, 08:02 PM
I recently purchased a 2 TB external hard drive and wanted to format it. Being a linux newbie, I wasn't sure the best way to go about this, so, I turned to the internet.
This (http://www.ehow.com/how_1000631_hard-drive-linux.html) is the page that I followed to format my 2 TB, making one 1 TB partition and leaving the rest as blank space, for future installations of Debian or the like.