PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] can't get to website, did I get blocked?



revenant138
November 25th, 2010, 07:15 PM
Hi all,

I'm trying to get to forex.com. This was working fine until about two days ago. None of the 3 computers in my house can get there (win 7, win xp, ubuntu). I can do a nslookup on it from my local DNS and one of Google's (8.8.8.8), and I get the same IP addresses. If I try to go there by the IP address, I get that the server denies me permission.

I did a traceroute, and I correctly can get there:

revenant@gibeon:/etc$ traceroute forex.com
traceroute to forex.com (74.217.51.67), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 7.644 ms 7.915 ms 8.201 ms
2 * * *
3 ge-9-11-ur01.maplegrove.mn.minn.comcast.net (68.85.166.65) 18.569 ms 18.954 ms 19.902 ms
4 te-8-3-ur02.maplegrove.mn.minn.comcast.net (68.87.174.50) 19.449 ms 20.295 ms 20.706 ms
5 te-2-1-ur01.hamlake.mn.minn.comcast.net (68.87.174.62) 21.090 ms 22.706 ms 23.088 ms
6 te-8-3-ur02.hamlake.mn.minn.comcast.net (68.87.174.66) 22.232 ms 11.073 ms 13.930 ms
7 te-2-2-ar02.roseville.mn.minn.comcast.net (68.87.174.69) 14.405 ms 16.032 ms 16.247 ms
8 te-1-1-0-4-cr01.chicago.il.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.95.5) 25.074 ms 25.540 ms 26.593 ms
9 pos-1-8-0-0-pe01.350ecermak.il.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.87.166) 32.162 ms 33.780 ms 35.026 ms
10 208.178.58.73 (208.178.58.73) 30.569 ms 31.652 ms 25.256 ms
11 67.17.192.54 (67.17.192.54) 57.523 ms 57.563 ms 56.991 ms
12 border1.pc2-bbnet2.nyj001.pnap.net (216.52.95.73) 57.102 ms 52.212 ms 55.903 ms
13 74.217.51.67 (74.217.51.67) 53.192 ms 54.876 ms 54.269 ms
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * * *
25 * * *
26 * * *
27 * * *
28 * * *
29 * * *
30 * * *

I cannot get any response to ping via IP address or hostname. I had my dad who lives across town give it a try, no problems there. I'm almost wondering if they blocked my IP for some reason (their website hasn't played real well with linux, tends to log me in and out frequently, maybe I got blacklisted? It also will say I'm logged in but only give me like half the options, then if i logout and back in its fine. Could it have been flagged as suspicious behavior?)

Later...
I'm at his house for thanksgiving now, I can get to the site directly with my netbook. I can't access the site directly by IP but I can by the name. When I use the IP it says
403 - Forbidden: Access is denied.
You do not have permission to view this directory or page using the credentials that you supplied.

Anybody have any ideas?

chili555
November 25th, 2010, 07:28 PM
My thinly informed guesswork is that the only credentials I think you may have provided are cookies. I suggest you go to Edit > Preferences > Privacy > Show Cookies. Search for forex.com and delete them all.

You will have to supply your username and password again.

Are you long on the yuan?

psoup1965
November 25th, 2010, 07:38 PM
If you get a 403 and there are no user accounts etc... that is you do not have to enter a member info then the issue is the website and there is nothing that you can do to fix it.

But if it makes you feel any better about if th esite is up or down right now I am there and it works.

Be sure you are using http://www.forex.com as your entry point and not a specific shortcut to somewhere AFTER you need to enter your account information.