PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] kpackagekit

beew
November 25th, 2010, 02:09 PM
Hi,

I just started playing around with KDE so this may be a very dumb question. How do you find all the installed programs in kpackagekit? Are there search and browse functions by status (all installed, not installed etc)similar to Synaptic or do you need to know the exact name of a package to locate it? If it is the latter is there anything similar to Synaptic in KDE?

QLee
November 25th, 2010, 03:11 PM
I just started playing around with KDE so this may be a very dumb question. How do you find all the installed programs in kpackagekit? Are there search and browse functions by status (all installed, not installed etc)similar to Synaptic or do you need to know the exact name of a package to locate it? If it is the latter is there anything similar to Synaptic in KDE?

I can't answer your actual question, beew, because I don't use KDE but it is possible to use synaptic in that environment. Probably would pull in some dependencies though and if you're trying to keep a "pure" system you might not want that.

I know from our previous discussion that you don't like a command line approach but see if,
dpkg --get-selections | less, in a terminal window gives what you are looking for. I've piped the output from dpkg through "less" to allow you to read them all on the terminal, you could also output to a file.

oldos2er
November 25th, 2010, 06:31 PM
Filters, Installed, Only Installed.

beew
November 26th, 2010, 10:03 AM
I can't answer your actual question, beew, because I don't use KDE but it is possible to use synaptic in that environment. Probably would pull in some dependencies though and if you're trying to keep a "pure" system you might not want that.

I know from our previous discussion that you don't like a command line approach but see if,