PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] IBM Levino Thinkpad R60 - Wireless isse

revelation2012
November 24th, 2010, 01:45 AM
Hello. I am new to Ubuntu and Linix and need a little help having my Levino IBM ThinkPad R60 recognize the onboard wirless card. You've no doubt heard that before . . . .

I thought I would be thrifty and try to wipe the pathetically slow MS XP OS on this machine and load Ubuntu 10.04.1 on this decomissined laptop from my business. Well it workd fine and but I am having a terrible time with the wlan0 interface. I followed a thread with the same card (listed below) and got it operational but after a reboot it again did not recognize the card. I have since gone through the thread again and cannot connect the card again. This was the thread I was using to configre the card but I have now given up (for the time being) and amd posting my own thread to get help.

Could anyone give a step by step command to get this wireless card recognized. And for that matter for me to be able to reboot the Laptop and have it still recognize the wireless card and locate access points. I appreciate any help. Below is the onboard wirless card specs:

*-network DISABLED
description: Wireless interface
product: PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
logical name: wlan0
version: 02
serial: 00:13:02:c7:dd:f4
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=iwl3945 latency=0 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11abg
resources: irq:32 memory:edf00000-edf00fff

Thanks

Edit: Sorry, here was the thread I was trying to follow and had success once until I rebooted:
http://art.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1096752

revelation2012
November 24th, 2010, 05:11 PM
I am preiodically able to get the wirless card to be recongnized with the following command:

sudo modprobe iwl3945
ifconfig