PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Disconnect network on shutdown



jamessimo
November 22nd, 2010, 10:59 PM
Hey guys! I like to think that is an easy request. A month ago I had (and still have) a weird problem were leaving my switched off computer plugged into the network killed the whole network.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1585116

well I have found a fix, if I disconnect my computer via software (Right click and disconnect "eth1" and shut down the network will remain up.

I want to make a script that runs on shutdown that simply disconnects "eth1".

Are there any pre-made shutdown scripts in ubuntu that I can simply add "eth1 enabled = 0" or something.

Thanks!

Suparious
November 22nd, 2010, 11:07 PM
I think this is a pretty easy request.

Have a look at the scripts in both rc0.d and rc6.d;

The scripts that begin with S are startup scripts, and K are shutdown scripts.

Also, there is a similar discussion here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=436346


And here is a small article on the linux boot-up and shutdown process:
http://articles.techrepublic.com.com/5100-10878_11-1056248.html

jamessimo
November 23rd, 2010, 01:39 PM
Thanks for the reply! I still cannot find what command is used to diconnect a interent connection.

Anyhelp?

jamessimo
November 24th, 2010, 09:18 PM
I'm still struggling with this, I have this code that I just whacked into pigins shutdown script (Seemed the safest place).

I dont think its working.



status=`ifconfig | grep eth1 | wc -l`
ifdown eth1
echo "eth1 Disconnected"

Is this wrong and can I make my own K file?

Cheesehead
November 28th, 2010, 02:30 AM
The correct command is indeed 'ifdown <interface name>',
for example 'ifdown eth1'.

If it's run as a root script, 'ifdown eth1'
If on your command line, add 'sudo' of course.

Yes, you can make your own change-of-runlevel script, or you can capture a 'shutdown' upstart event. Whichever makes you more comfortable.

There's no magic...just be careful, test thoroughly, and document it so you can maintain it.