PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] bulk hardware compatibility query

HappyLinux
November 19th, 2010, 03:38 PM
Hello folks, I am a returning Linux user, but I'm no pro. Somewhere between beginner and intermediate - more towards intermediate. I also have another account on this forum by the name of "AuronGrande", but because I have not used the account for some time, I cannot remember the login details, so I have happily created this new account.

I could not use Linux on my current system due to many hardware incompatibilities, but now I need a complete new system, so to speak.

So I need to know if the new hardware is completely compatible straight out the box, or requires little system configuration, e.g. modifying some settings via the terminal, etc.

The system that I have my eye on is the "Mesh Elite Pro 550" from meshcomputers.com. However, I chose a couple of custom options - bigger PSU, nVidia graphics and larger HDD. Going from the website, talking to one of their sales people and from some hardware that will be carried over from the old system, I have a complete list of hardware to be checked.

New hardware
Asus P7H55-M.
Intel Core i3 550.
Elixir 4GB 1333MHz memory.
Asus 1GB nVidia GeForce GTS450 with CUDA.
1TB Samsung Pinpoint F3 SATA 32MB cache.
Staying with the on-board sound.
Samsung Write Master 22X Dual Layer DVD rewriter. (not sure on model.)
Windows 7 Premium 64bit

Hardware reuse from previous system.
Samsung 19" monitor (not sure on the model, but comes up generic PnP under MS Windows Vista)
Microsoft Natural Ergonomic 4000 keyboard
Logitech MX400 M-BZ105A mouse
Canon iP4700 printer
Creative 5.1 speakers
2 USB HDDs

I have previously tried to do a hardware compatibility check, but found very little info. Some hardware could not be found, other were very rare and had little info.

I know that some of this list would be compatible straight out the box so to speak - both USB HDDs and the mouse.