PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Macbook 2,1 Maverick iSight

idealistic
October 30th, 2010, 02:22 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Linux, and I tried to use my iSight camera (especially for skype).
It didn't look so complicated and I saw many posts about that so I decided to do it myself, but I can't get it to work.

I got the AppleUSBVideoSupport file, but when i type ift-extract AppleUSBVideoSUpport in the terminal (using Guake), it tells me : Option -a is mandatory see --help

what does that mean ?

DOes anybody have the same problem ?

THanks,

THeo

B Pearce
October 30th, 2010, 10:00 PM
Hey,

I have the same model macbook (2,1). This is how I got my macbook isight working.

0. Open Ubuntu Software Centre and click on Edit -> Software Sources -> Other Software -> Add..

paste in

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/mactel-support/ppa/ubuntu maverick main

1. Mount your Macintosh HD in linux by clicking on it in nautilus.

2. Navigate to /System/Library/Extensions/IOUSBFamily.kext/Contents/Plugins/AppleUSBVideoSupport.kext/Contents/MacOS

3. Copy the file AppleUSBVideoSupport in this folder to your home directory (/home/YOU) [TIP: this file is a java class file that is roughly 85kb as of 10.6]

4. Type in the terminal

sudo apt-get install isight-firmware-tools5. a frame-buffer menu will appear, type in the box /home/YOU/AppleUSBVideoSupport

6. The isight-firmware-tool will extract the relevant info automatically.

7. Reboot for good measure, and your done.

Endnote: Upon reboot you may see the message "isight-firmware-tools failed to blah blah blah"
this is irrelevant, everything works fine.

Furthermore, I have tested this on iMac 8,1. isight-firmware-tools does not work.

all the best,

B Pearce

idealistic
October 31st, 2010, 01:32 PM
Hi, thanks for your answer,

I didnt keep the macos X partition so I did it the other way and it finally worked.