PDA

View Full Version : How do i do this in python

CaptainMark
October 25th, 2010, 10:31 PM
im sure this is quite simple but i cant find it in my book, (im still learning)
so im making a class for an object say Sheep and the sheep has an attribute, name, if i make multiple sheep how do i go through them and list their names, im assuming something like
for i in sheep:
print(i.name)

schauerlich
October 25th, 2010, 10:51 PM
Put your sheep in a list, and then go through that list in a for loop:

class Sheep:
def __init__(self, name):
self.name = name

def main():
a_few_sheep = [Sheep("little"), Sheep("bo"), Sheep("peep")]

for sheep in a_few_sheep:
print(sheep.name)

main()

CaptainMark
October 25th, 2010, 11:08 PM
and if the sheep were already created and i wanted to list them later on in the program, is there a way to do it listing all the sheep pre instantiated, plus some ones the user is prompted to create and print all the names automatically without having to type all the names again, in the real program there may be many many objects/sheep

schauerlich
October 25th, 2010, 11:16 PM
Computers are very dumb. They can only do exactly what they're told to do. If you want a bunch of things to be printed, you need to tell it which ones you want it to print, and it's on you to keep track of those things. Why not add all of the sheep to some list as you create them, and then later you can print them all at once?

class Sheep:
self.name = name

def main():
my_sheep = []
little = Sheep("little")
my_sheep.append(little)
my_sheep.append(Sheep("bo"))

some_name = input("What do you want to name your sheep? ")
my_sheep.append(Sheep(some_name))

for sheep in my_sheep:
print(sheep.name)

main()

schauerlich@inara:~$ python3.0 sheep.py

What do you want to name your sheep? peep
little
bo
peep
schauerlich@inara:~$

CaptainMark
October 25th, 2010, 11:21 PM