PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How exactly to install Ubuntu on External HD?

northerlywind
October 22nd, 2010, 02:25 AM
Sorry if this has been asked before; I checked the documentations and topics but it doesn't seem to be explicitly stated. So how, exactly, could I go about installing on an External HD? I run Mac 10.5.8 (Leopard), 3rd generation Macbook. Help? Thanks!

Nwwmac
October 23rd, 2010, 12:33 AM
I don't think booting Ubuntu from an external disk is possible. OSX and Ubuntu / Windows use different boot processes and you need to use either boot camp or rEFIt to get them to boot off the same internal disk. Neither boot camp or rEFIt supports booting from an external disk.

It would be great if they did, wouldn't it? :)

scienceandcake
March 12th, 2011, 10:51 PM
So, the forum I was following is like 3 years old, so I can't post my solution there, so here it is! I'll post some pics in my album of my handwritten instructions. It's wordy. It's for beginners. I'm a beginner. My Ubuntu isn't even 3 hours old, but it works.

The old forum I read was http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=510030
I'd say it's still a useful read.

I use a Late 2008 Aluminum body Macbook. Core 2 Duo. 10.6.6.

- back up your stuff
- have an ethernet connection ready
- have an ubuntu live CD (I'm using 10.10, 32bit)
- grab some tools to pull out your internal hard drive

Assuming you already have the external, turn on your mac, attach the hard drive, go into spotlight. Type in disk utility and select it to open.

On the left you should see your external listed. Go ahead and click on the drive. Click on the erase tab. Where it asks you the format, choose MS-DOS (FAT). Go ahead and erase the drive and have it formatted for this. This is probably the most important and most key step in the whole process.

Some people like to partition the drive - I did in my first attempt, which didn't work for a multitude of reasons, but here is how you do it if you want: