PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Atheros AR9285 Wireless Card issues

Dead ChexMix
October 20th, 2010, 11:53 PM
SOLUTION? KINDA, I FOUND NO CONCRETE SOLUTION (THIS IS AN EDIT 2 YEARS LATER IN AN ATTEMPT TO HELP THOSE THAT STUMBLE UPON THIS THREAD) TRY THE ONES BELOW TOO... THE ONLY SOLOUTION I FOUND WAS USING NATTY NARWHAL (UBUNTU 11.04 I THINK) GOOD LUCK!
(EDIT MAY 15, 2012)

Okay, I have a Atheros AR9285 wireless card and I can't seem to get ubuntu to reconize it. I've attempted to install and use the Ndswrapper thing (Sorry, forgot the exact name) it wont install it says that my perl directory is unsattisfactory and I've attempetted to solve this by installing everything it asked for yet in vain. So I need to know is there a ubuntu (Linux) driver for my Wireless card or SOme other soloution to my problem.

Now, I'm sorry guys but I'm a NEWBIE to the Linux system, so any soloutions you give me, can you please please put them in human language?

MANY MANY thanks in advanced

It seems like my card kinda works. (After trying out CompShrink's solution, Although I belive it does this by default with no moddifications) It will reconize my network when feed the details..and after asking for the padsword several times over it connects..but not fully, i still have no internet connections.

My card does not show ANY wireless networks in my network manager. I'm more than sure my network is discoverable. My Windows computer will see it.
It will not scan for networks (although I'm not sure how to make it do that. Any help?)

It will (I think) connect to my home network but it begs for the password multiple times (I always give it the same password. It takes a couple of tries to get it to say "Connected)

I have no internet connection. Firefox doesn't show a think nethir does the software center (when trying to download and install)

PS Compshrink, Your solotuion worked to no avail

bigfootnmd
October 21st, 2010, 02:09 PM
Please confirm what version of Ubuntu you are using.