PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dell studio lost wifi power while depends on battery



morefeo
October 20th, 2010, 02:04 PM
Hi all, I'm expecting a issue with my latptop (dell studio 1558) and its wireless card (broadcom bcm 4312, I use broadcom sta drivers). When I use the energy adapter it goes fast, good signal and all, but when I disconnect it and use the battery it goes slow as hell (less than 2mb) and makes bad ping for everything(more than 200ms).

I've not seen any option in the battery panel to increase its perfomance, what could be the problem?

Sorry for my english and thanks for the help.

morefeo
October 22nd, 2010, 01:41 AM
Some help? Is anybody expecting the same problem? I can't even use the laptop for what was designed for -portability- without proper wifi power.

Is there a hidden power option for that?

@Edit (Some information):

With AC adapter:


http://img808.imageshack.us/img808/7505/999715439.png

eth1 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"WLAN_C0"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: <I'll hide it>
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr: off Fragment thr: off
Encryption key: off
Power Management: off
Link Quality=5/5 Signal level=-57 dBm Noise level=-90 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:503 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

Battery:


http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/8600/999716460.png

eth1 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"WLAN_C0"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: <I'll hide it>
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr: off Fragment thr :off
Encryption key: off
Power Managementmode:All packets received
Link Quality=4/5 Signal level=-58 dBm Noise level=-89 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:503 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

The only difference I can appreciate is the power management mode, as highlighted. I'll try this http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1360901 and see if it actually works.

Sorry for my english.

bontana
October 24th, 2010, 01:04 AM
Hi,

are you still experiencing this problem? I have a simmilar one but far more drastic.
withour the power cable im barely able to open a site.

the solution from your link helped?

morefeo
October 24th, 2010, 05:01 AM
Nope, it didn't help, but now I'm expecting the problem with AC adapter too.

For now this command works: sudo iwconfig wlan0 power off

While wlan0 is the name of your wifi connection in iwconfig.

bontana
October 26th, 2010, 02:41 PM
yeah,
"sudo iwconfig wlan0 power off(eth1 in my case)" is working. It can be easy added into some kind off autostart to the init.d but..............

I dont this this is proper way to do it. looks like a bug to me.....

did you noticed any weird behaviour after applying this command?

morefeo
October 27th, 2010, 03:03 PM
yeah,
"sudo iwconfig wlan0 power off(eth1 in my case)" is working. It can be easy added into some kind off autostart to the init.d but..............

I dont this this is proper way to do it. looks like a bug to me.....

did you noticed any weird behaviour after applying this command?

No at this time.

jordanthompson
November 3rd, 2010, 06:08 AM
This has been driving me CRAZY!!! Thanks for the post - it is working for me too - now. Until I read your post, I didn't make the connection between bad wifi connection and no power:oops: