PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Sharing Cable Modem with Wired Router among 3 computers

NewarkDevil5
October 18th, 2010, 05:36 PM
My one computer has Ubuntu 10.10 (dual boot with XP) on it. I just upgraded last week from 10.4, but that didn't cause this problem as I'm only now trying to set up the network and I didn't have it set up before anyhow.

I want to share my cable modem (Motorola) connection through a NetGear ethernet router with two other computers (one with Windows XP and the other with Ubuntu 10.10). Right now I've got the wiring as follows:

Cable Modem -> Router Uplink jack
Router jack #1 -> Dual Boot Computer
Router jack #2 -> Windows XP Computer
Router jack #3 -> Ubuntu 10.10 Computer

The only computer that actually has internet access is the Dual Boot computer. I'm brand new to networking and really haven't had much success in it.

I've seen where some people have managed to do this by using two ethernet cards on one of their computers, but each one of mine only has one and I really don't want to have to put in another if I can avoid it. The modem has a USB jack on it, but when I tried to hook it up to the dual boot using the USB cord, Ubuntu won't connect to the internet and as such there isn't any connection to share. All I want is to share the modem connection among those three computers and maybe if possible share files and printers.

chili555
October 18th, 2010, 06:50 PM
It ought to work just as it is wired. All three computers ought to get internet access as shown:

Internet==>Cable Modem==>Router==>Computer

First, check the wiring; make sure the cable modem is indeed attached to the WAN port on the router. Make sure the computers are all attached to the LAN ports. Don't laugh, I've seen wiring errors cause problems before, I've even made them myself.

Next, let's concentrate on one computer at a time. Let's start with computer #3 running Ubuntu 10.10. Reboot it and run this terminal command.