PDA

View Full Version : Problem opening some websites



albincepa
October 18th, 2010, 05:02 PM
I am new to ubuntu 10.10
I am now unable to retrieve some websites like http://kvpy.org.in/ , while it can be easy retrieved from other operation system.
I have also tried firefox3.6 and chromium web browser:confused::confused::confused:

Lazaruss
October 18th, 2010, 05:03 PM
Do you get any error messages (3 digit number codes)

albincepa
October 18th, 2010, 05:08 PM
Do you get any error messages (3 digit number codes)
i am not getting any error codes...
it shows the title name in the title bar but fails to display the page

Lazaruss
October 18th, 2010, 05:13 PM
totally blank page, no loading icons, progress bars?

albincepa
October 18th, 2010, 05:17 PM
totally blank page, no loading icons, progress bars?
in the status bar it just says "waiting for www.kvpy.org.in" and i am having a blank page .

albincepa
October 18th, 2010, 05:18 PM
in the status bar it just says "waiting for www.kvpy.org.in" and i am having a blank page .
but i still can access the same using other proxy sites while in ubuntu itself

Lazaruss
October 18th, 2010, 05:37 PM
can you run

sudo apt-get install traceroute
and then

traceroute www.kvpy.org.in
and post the output

cariboo907
October 18th, 2010, 05:40 PM
This isn't a Cafe question, moved to Networking and Wireless

albincepa
October 19th, 2010, 01:33 PM
can you run

sudo apt-get install traceroute
and then

traceroute www.kvpy.org.in
and post the output
here is the output
traceroute www.kvpy.org.in
traceroute to www.kvpy.org.in (184.73.179.124), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 117.204.112.1 (117.204.112.1) 25.792 ms 27.705 ms 31.681 ms
2 218.248.173.118 (218.248.173.118) 33.647 ms 35.590 ms 39.554 ms
3 59.163.206.157.static.chennai.vsnl.net.in (59.163.206.157) 75.574 ms 77.525 ms 79.459 ms
4 172.31.4.93 (172.31.4.93) 89.465 ms 91.430 ms 93.369 ms
5 172.31.4.93 (172.31.4.93) 97.368 ms 99.337 ms 101.272 ms
6 Vlan512.icore1.SVW-Singapore.as6453.net (116.0.71.25) 173.240 ms 133.103 ms 145.812 ms
7 if-11-0-0-1920.core2.S9R-Singapore.as6453.net (209.58.96.145) 179.810 ms 183.814 ms 185.697 ms
8 if-14-0-0-39.core1.S9R-Singapore.as6453.net (209.58.82.189) 139.681 ms 143.686 ms if-3-1-0.mcore3.PDI-PaloAlto.as6453.net (216.6.29.125) 483.654 ms
9 if-10-0-0.core2.S9R-Singapore.as6453.net (209.58.82.46) 179.613 ms 183.623 ms 185.535 ms
10 ix-2-0.icore1.PDI-PaloAlto.as6453.net (209.58.17.14) 347.505 ms if-3-1-0.mcore3.PDI-PaloAlto.as6453.net (216.6.29.125) 485.467 ms 487.400 ms
11 dca-edge-18.inet.qwest.net (67.14.36.6) 349.376 ms * Vlan1144.icore1.PDI-PaloAlto.as6453.net (216.6.29.102) 361.278 ms
12 * * *
13 dca-edge-18.inet.qwest.net (67.14.36.6) 317.840 ms 319.735 ms 317.805 ms
14 72.21.222.139 (72.21.222.139) 321.760 ms * *
15 72.21.199.34 (72.21.199.34) 325.707 ms 327.634 ms *
16 * * 72.21.222.139 (72.21.222.139) 341.522 ms
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 ec2-184-73-179-124.compute-1.amazonaws.com (184.73.179.124) 332.813 ms 334.750 ms 334.728 ms

Lazaruss
October 19th, 2010, 09:56 PM
ok, i'm not sure whats going on - given traceroute reaches the server...

Couple of things to try

delete cookies and cache - try Ctrl + F5 simultaneously, else Tools > Clear Recent History - Expand details, only tick cookies, cache and site preferences

www.kvpy.org.in/main - i get automatically redirected to this

do either of these have an effect?

albincepa
October 22nd, 2010, 03:59 PM
ok, i'm not sure whats going on - given traceroute reaches the server...

Couple of things to try

delete cookies and cache - try Ctrl + F5 simultaneously, else Tools > Clear Recent History - Expand details, only tick cookies, cache and site preferences

www.kvpy.org.in/main - i get automatically redirected to this

do either of these have an effect?
thanx for your help Lazaruss (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=997173) it really worked out for me
Thanx once again...............

Rushyang
October 24th, 2010, 06:04 PM
thanx for your help Lazaruss (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=997173) it really worked out for me
Thanx once again...............

Hey I have the same problem.. and a solution which worked for you.. Doesn't work for me.. Please help!

I'm not able to open, YouTube, Wikipedia, Wooledge, Some github reference sites, gravatar etc!! Please Help!

So far, I have tried..
1) Disabling/Enabling IPv6
2) Trying different browser.

Note: Those sites are opening in my other OS: Win 7 flawlessly..

Rushyang
October 24th, 2010, 06:08 PM
Here is my traceroute of www.youtube.com


rushyang@Maverick_Meerkat: ~ $ traceroute www.youtube.com
traceroute to www.youtube.com (209.85.231.91), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 117.198.192.1 (117.198.192.1) 37.575 ms 41.530 ms 43.505 ms
2 218.248.169.230 (218.248.169.230) 47.486 ms 49.462 ms 51.438 ms
3 115.113.128.17.static-mumbai.vsnl.net.in (115.113.128.17) 61.415 ms 63.402 ms 67.372 ms
4 59.163.25.242.static.vsnl.net.in (59.163.25.242) 69.352 ms 69.333 ms 71.380 ms
5 121.240.0.10.static-Mumbai.vsnl.net.in (121.240.0.10) 77.279 ms 79.262 ms 81.237 ms
6 216.239.43.214 (216.239.43.214) 83.215 ms 43.363 ms 57.580 ms
7 72.14.232.100 (72.14.232.100) 79.544 ms 81.615 ms 85.496 ms
8 72.14.238.90 (72.14.238.90) 89.476 ms 89.458 ms 103.426 ms
9 maa03s01-in-f91.1e100.net (209.85.231.91) 107.404 ms 111.389 ms 111.359 ms



Traceroute of wooledge...


traceroute to wooledge.org (209.142.155.49), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 117.198.192.1 (117.198.192.1) 37.585 ms 41.551 ms 43.528 ms
2 218.248.169.234 (218.248.169.234) 47.502 ms 51.489 ms 51.475 ms
3 121.244.68.77.static-lvsb.vsnl.net.in (121.244.68.77) 61.455 ms 65.430 ms 67.418 ms
4 59.163.16.54.static.vsnl.net.in (59.163.16.54) 273.427 ms 273.565 ms 273.556 ms
5 59.163.16.54.static.vsnl.net.in (59.163.16.54) 273.546 ms * 275.349 ms
6 if-1-0-0-101.core1.CFO-Chennai.as6453.net (116.0.79.9) 111.305 ms 71.566 ms 71.800 ms
7 if-14-0-0.core2.CFO-Chennai.as6453.net (116.0.79.14) 75.851 ms 81.840 ms 83.825 ms
8 if-4-0-0.core2.S9R-Singapore.as6453.net (116.0.84.22) 113.869 ms 117.773 ms 121.743 ms
9 if-1-1677.tcore2.LVW-LosAngeles.as6453.net (209.58.96.162) 305.655 ms 305.626 ms 309.597 ms
10 Vlan12.icore2.LAA-LosAngeles.as6453.net (216.6.12.49) 313.575 ms 315.567 ms 317.539 ms
11 192.205.35.129 (192.205.35.129) 315.513 ms 317.502 ms 321.446 ms
12 cr2.la2ca.ip.att.net (12.122.129.34) 306.031 ms 301.813 ms 300.017 ms
13 cr1.slkut.ip.att.net (12.122.30.29) 310.002 ms 311.987 ms 315.962 ms
14 cr2.dvmco.ip.att.net (12.122.30.26) 335.955 ms 335.935 ms 337.921 ms
15 cr1.cgcil.ip.att.net (12.122.31.86) 317.900 ms 319.866 ms 319.990 ms
16 cr1.cl2oh.ip.att.net (12.122.2.206) 321.837 ms 323.827 ms 327.804 ms
17 cr83.cl2oh.ip.att.net (12.123.151.49) 339.846 ms 311.820 ms 315.777 ms
18 gar10.cl2oh.ip.att.net (12.123.150.29) 295.884 ms 301.830 ms 301.826 ms
19 12.91.184.198 (12.91.184.198) 329.874 ms 333.784 ms 337.773 ms
20 lornohcora1.lornohcoro1.centurytel.net (209.142.152.11) 313.750 ms 315.731 ms 319.705 ms
21 wooledge.org (209.142.155.49) 325.687 ms 335.677 ms 337.657 ms

Lazaruss
October 24th, 2010, 10:03 PM
albincepa, which one of my suggestions was the one that worked?

darth62969
October 24th, 2010, 10:49 PM
not to change the subject but i'm having a similar but different issue. the websites that do not start with www. are coming up with a error saying "
Server not found
Firefox can't find the server at pace.discovery-us.net.
* Check the address for typing errors such as
ww.example.com instead of
www.example.com

* If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.

* If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
please help me. i am trying to get info for collages and this error is not helping!

darth62969
October 24th, 2010, 10:53 PM
the site does not even link properly. :(

albincepa
October 25th, 2010, 09:09 AM
i dont know how it worked.......
i just cleared the cache file and history.But that didnt get me work at that moment.
But the next day i tried to open the site and it was opened

Rushyang
October 25th, 2010, 10:34 AM
i dont know how it worked.......
i just cleared the cache file and history.But that didnt get me work at that moment.
But the next day i tried to open the site and it was opened

I tried everything that already.. First I thought that must because of flash plugin.. but then mywiki.wooledge.org stop opening too.

I am very regular into upgrading every packages in ubuntu too! and it's been almost a week. This thing is driving me crazy! I can't leave ubuntu and boot into windows cause I want to learn more bash scripts? That's crazy!

albincepa
October 26th, 2010, 04:05 PM
Now I am having the same issue with many other websites..
I am now unable to retrieve any website in the search result of Google News.
I am getting fed up with ubuntu....:confused::confused::confused::confused:

Tristan Tonks
December 22nd, 2010, 02:14 PM
I've had this problem since Karmic - I get this error consistently from a number of sites and many (Often including this site) wont let me POST data such as this post which may or may not do ... :(

Error 101 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_RESET): Unknown error.

furlabs
December 24th, 2010, 08:48 AM
I've seen this sort of thing before with a bad MTU size. Here is a link that explains it:
https://blue-labs.org/howto/mtu-mss.php

Basically, to accommodate for certain websites you need to clamp your MTU to 1492 bytes. Here is how to do that from the command line:

ifconfig eth0 mtu 1492

Doing this on the workstation may be sufficient, or you might need to do the same clamp at your modem/router, I'm not sure.

Hope this helps someone!