PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help !!! TrendNet TE 100-PCBUSR



seedainvisible737
October 18th, 2010, 06:08 AM
Ok, I'm still new to hardware driver installs.

I have purchased a TrendNet TE 100-PCBUSR card for my thinkpad t-22. The Lan port on the back of the system just quit and is not working. My expectation was to get a ethernet pc-card adapter and use that instead since all else works. I checked the card make sure it would work. there are drivers for Linux on the cd....But nothing sound looks like the instructions in the txt file. other users have qouted that it works but I having a hard time. Just to make sure I also plugged into a winxp system to make sure it was working. lights come on. drivers installed and it connected.....but I don't like Windows at all and my windows machine has a lan port . heree's what i did:

i ran "lspci"
inserted the card gave a few seconds....
"lspci" again
noticed that it picked up a RealTek RTL8139.

"ifconfig" only shows lo. In the past is has shown eth0 for dsl before is fried.

It apears as if the system sees it, but doesn't know to use as an ethernet or see is as eth0 device please. help.

or show me how to compile drivers for ubuntu. Part of the instructions tell you to compile the drivers in directories that are not on my system. here's where im lost. I have installed gcc version 3.3.5 . that all i know so far.

Please help. I hope to learn from this but im stuck for now.:!:

dineshs
October 18th, 2010, 07:30 AM
Can you restart and try
sudo lshw -C network

seedainvisible737
October 20th, 2010, 05:20 PM
I put in this command:

sudo lshw -C network

I get this:

lc@linuxBlak:~$ sudo lshw -C network

Harware Lister (lshw) - A.01.03
usage: lshw [-options ...]
-version print program version
-html output hardware tree as HTML
-xml output hardware tree as XML
-short output hardware paths

I don't think my version of lshw supports that option. However if i run it straight it looks lik this:
lc@linuxBlak:~$ sudo lshw

linuxblak

description: Computer

product: 2647SFM

vendor: IBM

version: Not Available

serial: xxxxxxx

capabilities: smbios-2.3 dmi-2.3

*-core

description: Motherboard

product: 2647SFM

vendor: IBM

physical id: 0

version: Not Available

serial: xxxxxxxxxxx

*-firmware

description: BIOS

vendor: IBM

physical id: 0

version: 16ET29WW (1.09 ) (02/28/2002)

size: 144KB

capacity: 448KB

capabilities: isa pci pcmcia pnp apm upgrade shadowing escd cdboot bootselect pcmciaboot edd int13floppy720 int13floppy2880 int5printscreen int9keyboard int14serial int17printer int10video acpi agp ls120boot biosbootspecification

*-cpu

description: CPU

product: Pentium III (Coppermine)

vendor: Intel Corp.

physical id: 6

version: 6.8.6

slot: None

size: 900MHz

capacity: 900MHz

clock: 100MHz

capabilities: fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse

*-cache:0

description: L1 cache

physical id: a

slot: Internal L1 Cache

size: 32KB

capacity: 32KB

capabilities: synchronous internal write-back

*-cache:1

description: L2 cache

physical id: b

slot: Internal L2 Cache

size: 256KB

capacity: 256KB

capabilities: internal write-back

*-memory

description: System Memory

physical id: 24

slot: System board or motherboard

size: 256MB

capacity: 1GB

*-bank:0

description: SODIMM SDRAM Synchronous

physical id: 0

slot: DIMM 1

*-bank:1

description: SODIMM SDRAM Synchronous

physical id: 1

slot: DIMM 2

size: 256MB

configuration: width=64

*-pci

physical id: f8000000

bus info: pci@00:00.0

version: 03

clock: 33MHz

*-pci

physical id: 1

bus info: pci@00:01.0

version: 03

clock: 66MHz

capabilities: pci bus_master

*-display UNCLAIMED

physical id: 0

bus info: pci@01:00.0

version: 13

size: 128MB

clock: 66MHz

capabilities: bus_master cap_list

configuration: irq=11

*-pcmcia:0

physical id: 2

bus info: pci@00:02.0

version: 03

clock: 33MHz

capabilities: pcmcia bus_master cap_list

configuration: driver=yenta_cardbus irq=11

*-network

description: Realtek

physical id: 0

version: Rtl8139

slot: Socket 0

configuration: irq=11

*-pcmcia:1

physical id: 2.1

bus info: pci@00:02.1

version: 03

clock: 33MHz

capabilities: pcmcia bus_master cap_list

configuration: driver=yenta_cardbus irq=11

*-multimedia

physical id: 5

bus info: pci@00:05.0

version: 01

clock: 33MHz

capabilities: bus_master cap_list

configuration: driver=Sound irq=11

*-bridge:0 UNCLAIMED

physical id: 7

bus info: pci@00:07.0

version: 02

clock: 33MHz

capabilities: bridge bus_master
*-ide

physical id: 7.1

bus info: pci@00:07.1

version: 01

clock: 33MHz

capabilities: bus_master

configuration: driver=PIIX_IDE

*-usb

physical id: 7.2

bus info: pci@00:07.2

version: 01

clock: 33MHz

capabilities: bus_master

configuration: driver=uhci_hcd irq=11

*-bridge:1 UNCLAIMED

physical id: 7.3

bus info: pci@00:07.3

version: 03

clock: 33MHz

capabilities: bridge

configuration: irq=9

*-network

physical id: 0

bus info: pci@02:00.0

version: 10

clock: 33MHz

capabilities: bus_master cap_list

configuration: driver=8139too irq=11

*-network:0 DISABLED

description: Ethernet controller

physical id: 1

logical name: eth0

serial: 00:14:d1:1c:dc:f5

capabilities: ethernet

configuration: broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.27 multicast=yes

*-network:1 DISABLED

description: controller

physical id: 2

logical name: sit0


I don't know why, but I noticed that a few items listed as network showing DISABLED next to it. It does show the card and lists it accordingly. but what's really going on and how can i fix it?

dineshs
October 21st, 2010, 04:25 AM
Which version of ubuntu are you using?10.04?

*-network:0 DISABLED
You may right click the Network icon on right top of the panel and check if networking is enabled.(Hope it is enabled in BIOS)

seedainvisible737
October 24th, 2010, 01:53 AM
sorry for the delay. been online. I figured it out the very next day.

I did this from the desktop menu bar:

[Menu Bar]System>Administration>Networking

from here i corrected the issue of eth0 not configured. Once it was configured then activate eth0 from the same screen......It was so simple. I felt really silly trying to be deep and complicated with it. now it works.


Which version of ubuntu are you using?10.04?

believe it or not "Hoary Hedgehog" 5.04. the reason is that its an old system and i keep gettig issue when using an install or live disc to upgrade. still working on it. I have managed to get the Xubuntu 8.10 on the system. Its basiscally my test/Toy machine to get more familiar with Linux.