PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Finishing my home server

Sarah13
October 18th, 2010, 03:41 AM
I'm a complete beginner at this, so any input is appreciated.

I am trying to setup my home server. It's on an old PC using Ubuntu 10.4 Desktop edition. I want to be able to save files to this server from my Macbook (10.5.8 ), as well as edit them. These files will all be web development files, mostly HTML and PHP. I want my mac to be able to see this server, connect to it, and have read/write privileges to it. It's basically going to be my web development server for web pages in progress.

I use my wireless router for my internet. The linux computer is hardlined to the router, while my Mac only uses the wireless. My router assigns IP's dynamically.

So far I have installed Apache 2, PHP 5, and Mysql on the machine. Because my router assigns dynamic IPs, I set up the ubuntu machine with dynDNS. So now on the ubuntu machine I can go to it's IP address and view the content there through a browser (ie it's working correctly). And due to DynDNS, I have an URL that I can access on my mac. I can move pages to and from, and create sub-directories within the server if I am on the ubuntu machine.

However, the ubuntu machine is the only one to have read/write privileges. Right now only root as permission to edit the www folder. I need to change that.

I enabled port forwarding HTTP service through port 80, which allowed me to setup the dynDNS. Now would I setup an FTP service so that I can transfer files back and forth from my mac to the server? Or do I need to get the permissions squared away first? I'm not sure where to go from here.

CharlesA
October 18th, 2010, 04:20 AM
If you are accessing the machine from inside the network, you don't need to bother with Dyndns, as that is only for if you are trying to access the server from the internet and you don't have a static external ip.