PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Please tell me how to move widgets on toobar



metalaxesucks
October 15th, 2010, 11:07 AM
See how all my widgets are on the left hand side
https://sites.google.com/site/blahblahoinkoink/home/hot
As you can see I tried dragging them to the right, & they always spring back to the left.
It started when I was trying to add widgets to the toolbar & I clicked on something,I don't know what happend!
Thanks

JohnHeikkila
October 15th, 2010, 11:25 AM
Right-Click on the empty space on the right. You may be able to delete the empty space, the separator.

kio_http
October 15th, 2010, 11:30 AM
Firstly I would like to state that I think you are making a mistake. A toolbar in general is this
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/b/b7/Application_toolbar.png

What you want to do I assume is make your taskbar be like the default KDE?

To achieve that, add a widget called Taskmanager to the taskbar. Then move that widget (called taskmanager) to right after the Desktop icon. Now everything should come back to normal.

Or reset KDE to defaults.

To do this.
Press ALT + F2
type
konsole
press enter
type in konsole

rm -rf .kde
press enter

Logout and Login

metalaxesucks
October 15th, 2010, 11:43 AM
Firstly I would like to state that I think you are making a mistake. A toolbar in general is this
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/b/b7/Application_toolbar.png

What you want to do I assume is make your taskbar be like the default KDE?

To achieve that, add a widget called Taskmanager to the taskbar. Then move that widget (called taskmanager) to right after the Desktop icon. Now everything should come back to normal.

Or reset KDE to defaults.

To do this.
Press ALT + F2
type
konsole
press enter
type in konsole

rm -rf .kde
press enter

Logout and Login

Thank you so much kio_http, I added the taskmanager and everything went back to normal.
I usually use Ubuntu, but I had problems with the latest version (10.10) so I'm giving Kubuntu a shot.
Thanks again

kio_http
October 15th, 2010, 03:18 PM
Thank you so much kio_http, I added the taskmanager and everything went back to normal.
I usually use Ubuntu, but I had problems with the latest version (10.10) so I'm giving Kubuntu a shot.
Thanks again

No problem. Enjoy using KDE. Note: Unfortunately due to cd disk space restrictions, you will notice that Kubuntu comes with a plain KDE, one wallpaper etc.

However since KDE has great customisability, you have to change it to your likings. Look for the missing kde wallpapers, themes etc in the repositories.