PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] How to install open office in Lubuntu

asifnaz
October 14th, 2010, 09:06 AM
I am working on a project which aims provide 40$ computers to 3rd world students .
I decided to use PIII with lubuntu .
As I am new to Linux I have no idea how to install open office in Lubuntu
I have downloaded it

it is in (OOo_3.2.1_Linux_x86_install-deb_en-US.tar) format

kindly guide me step by step how can I install it

diablo75
October 14th, 2010, 09:35 AM
Just open a terminal and type:

sudo apt-get install openoffice.org

Also... does Lubuntu have Synaptic Package Manager installed on it? If so, you can just use that to add/remove software if you don't have the Software Center to use.

mastablasta
October 14th, 2010, 09:39 AM
Go to Synaptic and find Open office and then install it.

how many Mhz does the ocmputer have? because it might work slow on a P3. well also depends on how much ram you have i guess.

Lubuntu is light but if you use "heavy" programmes then that wont' help much.

diablo75
October 14th, 2010, 09:56 AM
Yeah, you might try AbiWord instead of Open Office if it performs sluggishly.

friTTe81
October 14th, 2010, 08:13 PM
or give Libreoffice a spin, dont know if its so light but its good.
Ive replaced my Openoffice for it.

Hagar Delest
October 14th, 2010, 09:34 PM
If you want to install the vanilla version, see [Ubuntu] Installing OOo on Debian and Co. (http://user.services.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=68)

pinklady14
September 4th, 2011, 02:32 AM
Just open a terminal and type:

sudo apt-get install openoffice.org

Also... does Lubuntu have Synaptic Package Manager installed on it? If so, you can just use that to add/remove software if you don't have the Software Center to use.

Hi,

I am an absolute beginner and I am trying to install Open Office using Lubuntu - linux 2.6.38-8-generic (i686), light version of Ubuntu 11.4

I have downloaded the latest version of Open Office 3.3 and I don't know what to do next.