PDA

View Full Version : Monitors dead



Jonglen
October 14th, 2010, 01:58 AM
I was running dual monitors with an Nvidia GTS 250 just fine for a few months.

Now, both of the monitors don't even power up. I have tried plugging them in to 3 other computers, but they just don't power up at all.

I have also plugged in 3 other monitors to my computer, but none of them were receiving anything from the computer. The monitors would turn on, but they would display nothing.

Any idea what is going on?

P.S. Yes, I have tried using different cords as well

Sef
October 14th, 2010, 06:48 AM
Moved to ABT.

Gone fishing
October 14th, 2010, 07:41 AM
Ok just guessing but


Now, both of the monitors don't even power up. I have tried plugging them in to 3 other computers, but they just don't power up at all.

They're broken


I have also plugged in 3 other monitors to my computer, but none of them were receiving anything from the computer. The monitors would turn on, but they would display nothing.

1) They're old monitors they are are receiving but the frequency and resolution that the video card is giving out is beyond their capability. If this is the case you should see the initial Bios screens on boot then the monitors should go dead as the boot process continues.

2) The Nvidia is dead what killed the monitors (power surge etc) killed it. If this is the case you will see nothing on the new monitors, however, if you plug in to the on-board video card everything will appear as normal.

3) The Nvidia card has been disabled in BIOS

AndyM3
October 14th, 2010, 07:45 AM
Sounds like broken monitors to me. Also, maybe a broken card.

conradin
October 14th, 2010, 07:52 AM
ooh! Are they LCD or CRT?
And how comfy are you in repairing electronics?
I fixed 20 some LCDs over this summer for a total cost of about 14$
Does the power button illuminate even for a second? does it go into the standby by mode or just doesn't turn on at all? What type of monitors are they?

lkraemer
October 14th, 2010, 01:41 PM
It is very unlikely that you have several monitors, and they all don't
work with one specific computer. Use some Logical Troubleshooting!

1. If your Video Card is a PCI Card, Power OFF the Computer,
Unplug from the MAINS, and then Carefully Remove and Reseat your
PCI Video Card. Then try one Monitor again.
2. Take one monitor and plug it into the MAINS. (120 VAC)
(Do not connect the Video Cable!)
3. Turn on the Monitor while you watch the Display area & LED.
4. Check to see if the Power LED is "ON". It should be "Green"
during the Initialize Phase, then turn "Yellow" if the Video
isn't present. (Colors may be different on yours, or yours
may work slightly different!)
5. If the Power LED is NEVER "ON" then you have a Power Supply Problem.
Could be AC (Input) or DC (Output) Problem........or Fuse......
6. If the display Quickly Blinks, and displays an error message then it
is likely to be functional. (You won't be able to access the Menu!)
7. Connect the Video to a Good Functional Computer with a known Good
Video Card, and see if you can get to the MENU of the Monitor, if
available. (I prefer to use an old DOS computer for this initial
test, as just TEXT will be displayed initially.)
8. If you know 100% that the DOS text should be displayed, (Typing
"DIR A:" makes the Floppy active), Shine a Bright Light on the Display
and see if you can see some Faint Text. If the Text is present,
then your Backlighting is defective on your Monitor. (Assuming it's
not a CRT type.) Repair the Backlight, as needed. Probably/maybe
some bad caps in the circuits. If you are not Technical Savy, get
someone who is, to assist.......You'll save money/equipment.....
9. Unplug the Video Cable, then Plug it in again, watching the Display
closely. See any changes, Video blinks, Power LED Change?
If not, try a different Monitor, as it may actually be defective.

Ref:
http://www.edaboard.com/forum.php


http://www.badcaps.net/
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7130
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7077
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7155

That should get you some good information.

Keep in mind, you can tear up more in a few minutes, than a trained
technician is willing to fix......AT YOUR COST!


lk