PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Complete novice

Brian_new_to_linux
October 13th, 2010, 01:46 PM
Hello all

I am utterly linux illiterate, but 10.10 looked the perfect replacement for linpus lite on my Acer Aspire one netbook. I have downloaded the OS & the USB .iso install file to test that all my hardware works and it all looked just dandy, when connected by wire to my router,
However, although the netbook is showing nearby wireless connections, my own home network wireless signal does not appear and I cannot connect.
Have I done something wrong or is the problem with the router? When I reboot to Linpus lite it all works fine and connects as it should.

Help!

Brian

petronell
October 13th, 2010, 01:52 PM
First the obvious question, is your wireless network set to be a hidden SSID?

If so click on the network manager and choose connect to hidden network?

msmx5s
October 13th, 2010, 01:52 PM
I don't suppose you have a hidden network on your router do you?

nothingspecial
October 13th, 2010, 01:53 PM
First thing, get that wired connection back, then in your menus go

System > Administration > Aditional Drivers

See if that brings anything up.

If not, post back your wireless info

Open a terminal Applications > accessories > Terminal and type

sudo lshw -C network

It will ask for your password but you won`t see it when you type it.

Copy and paste the gobbldygook it soits out in a new post back here.

Brian_new_to_linux
October 13th, 2010, 02:02 PM
No my wireless router/network is not set to be hidden- In fact I often use my work laptop at home (Win XP) and my stepdaughter has also connected to without issues on an Vista (gak) laptop.
I will try with the wired connection again when I get home tonight
THANK YOU ALL for your incredibly quick replies. This is another reason I am so keen to move all of my machines (desktop and very old laptop) to Unbuntu, when I am confident I know how to use it!

Bri

msmx5s
October 13th, 2010, 02:25 PM