PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Replace Debian 5.0 with Ubuntu 10.10

k3jsparks
October 13th, 2010, 09:42 AM
Help! I am new to Linux (3 weeks ago got Ubuntu for first time) and saw an ad for Debian and thought I would try it out. I downloaded disk 1 and installed and formatted the entire hard drive, erasing Ubuntu (first mistake of many). Now I found out that I want Ubuntu back because I can actually understand how to use it.

I am stuck. I downloaded the Ubuntu and burned it to a disk, but when i reboot, I get nothing but the Debian system. I tell it to boot from the CD, and it tries, but can't seem to boot from it. Does the download only work for leaving a Windows system? How can I get out of this situation if I can't reinstall?

I have something called Unetbootin-linux-494 and downloaded it (can't figure out how to use apt-get on the machine so just I downloaded and installed that way). It says it needs p7zip-full. I see it in the packages for Debian, but I cannot understand how to install it. I tried apt-get install but have not figured out how to get it. I clicked on their link, got it, but I cannot open it now to use it.

At this point I am temmpted to install Windows just so I can have something I know how to use so I can boot from that. I WANT MY UBUNTU BACK!!!! :)
Thanks

migs73
October 13th, 2010, 09:48 AM
You should check the ISO image file you downloaded is not corrupted using an MD5checksum;
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM
Burn it to a disk using image burning sofware (don't know what is available on Debian, but assume Brasero will be) just select the ISO or image burn option, and burn at slowest speed. Then you could check the CD MD5 again.
Then try again to boot from the CD.

amjjawad
October 13th, 2010, 09:51 AM
Help! I am new to Linux (3 weeks ago got Ubuntu for first time)

Welcome to Linux's World ;)