PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Laptop with Mulitple Displays

jojarth
October 12th, 2010, 04:47 AM
Hello all,

After years and years of being a Windows user, my company wants to start exploring Linux. My job is to figure out if we can implement it. A buddy of mine who's company runs on Linux pointed me to Ubuntu as a great starting point.

Using Virtual Box inside Windows 7, I found that most of the apps that I use can work with little or no configuration, either natively in Ubuntu, or with some WINE configuration. So, I backed up my hard drive and decided to give it a run my only OS (so I can't go running back to Windows if things don't work out).

The biggest problem I ran into is my monitors. I can't seem to figure out how to get them to detect the way I do in Windows. Please bear in mind that pretty much all I have done was install a VM of Ubuntu 10.04 (64bit), install the guest additions, install WINE, and start testing apps. I have very little configuration experience. Here is a break down of the day, maybe you can help me?

Laptop - Elitebook 8740W with the Quadro 3800M. Using the current Version (not beta) of the NVIDIA accelerated graphics driver. Although I did all my testing in 10.04, I am running the 64 bit version of 10.10. I am only worried about my monitors, as all my other peripherals work fine.

My monitor at home is an ACER LCD that does 1920x1080.
My monitors at work are 1 ACER and 1 ASUS that both do 1920x1080.
My laptops display pushes 1920x1200.

I am using the NVIDIA X Server settings to change my displays around. With the exception of travelling, I keep my laptop lid closed.