PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Harddisk filled with loops of directory structure

Maddog59
October 11th, 2010, 09:21 PM
Hi there,

I'm not sure this is an Absolute Beginner's question, but as I am a beginner at Linux/Ubuntu, I'm putting my problem into this forum.

Have a server with v8.10 installed. The server is normally overseen by an administrator, who for various reasons, cannot attend to this problem for a few weeks.

It appears the server has kept writing the same files to the harddisk in consecutive loops, and this has filled up the HD, as when we try to access data from other workstations, we are getting error messages saying the disk is full. The Disk Usage Analyzer confirms the HD is (for all practical purposes) full

The exact problem is not obvious, but it appears that occasionally the Simple Backup (v0.10.4) does not write its stuff to the appropriate backup disk, instead writing another loop of files.

This loop appear to be as follows. /proc/self/root/proc/self/root etc This goes at least 15 levels down and includes all the other files and folders including a 1GB Backup Error file in the /Dev folder which also appears at each level.

Simple solution would be to delete all the loops, however the system will not let me do that. I have tried giving myself all admin rights in the Users & Groups function - however I still get error messages saying "Error removing file: Permission Denied" or "The folder "zzz" cannot be handled because you do not have the permissions to read it"

Having used Unix for a while (20-something years ago) I'm not too scared of the Command Line and was able to figure out the required commands. I even used the 'sudo' prefix. But all I get is "Operation not Permitted" or "Permission Denied".

Unless I can figure out how to delete these repeating loops of folders, we are unable to access any of the data on out harddisk.