PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] problem with my labtop



mahmoud fayed
October 11th, 2010, 08:29 PM
hi, everybody
i try to install ubuntu with my new Laptop Sony Vaio CW-21
but i can't
he gives me a black screen after choice "try ubuntu" or "install"
and i try to install it from live cd and usb flash
and i used newest and previous versions of ubuntu

so how can i solve this problem ?






Thanks, Keep Smiling It's Sunnah and Free Too :)
Mahmoud Fayed

Peter09
October 11th, 2010, 08:32 PM
Here is what appears to be the bug, and if you look carefully near the bottom of the thread, a fix.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xserver-xorg-video-nouveau/+bug/571383

mahmoud fayed
October 11th, 2010, 08:48 PM
Here is what appears to be the bug, and if you look carefully near the bottom of the thread, a fix.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xserver-xorg-video-nouveau/+bug/571383



sorry peter but i can't find the solution, can u write it here :)

Thanks

Peter09
October 11th, 2010, 09:22 PM
OK,
when you get to the grub command line type 'e' for edit. add 'nomodeset' to the boot line, see if that works.

sanderd17
October 11th, 2010, 09:27 PM
You don't get grub when you boot the live CD.

Press any key at boot, then you come in a choice screen, choose your lang and your keyboard. After that, press F6 and check the "nomodeset".

If it works and when you installed it, it's possible you still have to do the grub thing.

anewguy
October 11th, 2010, 09:38 PM
The advice is coming from the solution you were pointed to in the thread:


fompi wrote on 2010-05-04: #26

Affected with vaio VPC-CW2X
Managed to install with alternate install; then:
* boot with the alternate
* mounted my new install, chrooted inside them
* copied /dev directory to /$mntpoint/dev, mount proc to /$mntpoint/proc
* edit /etc/default/grub, added "nomodeset" to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT
* exec update-grub
Reboot and worked :)


If need be, you can download and burn the alternate installer CD and do the above as well. The key is the "nomodeset".

Dave ;)

mahmoud fayed
October 11th, 2010, 09:49 PM
OK,
when you get to the grub command line type 'e' for edit. add 'nomodeset' to the boot line, see if that works.


oohhh :D thanks peter it's work



You don't get grub when you boot the live CD.

Press any key at boot, then you come in a choice screen, choose your lang and your keyboard. After that, press F6 and check the "nomodeset".

If it works and when you installed it, it's possible you still have to do the grub thing.


The advice is coming from the solution you were pointed to in the thread:



If need be, you can download and burn the alternate installer CD and do the above as well. The key is the "nomodeset".

Dave ;)



Thanks sanderd and anewguy For your help

anewguy
October 12th, 2010, 06:11 AM
Glad Peter09's info worked for you - it's always good to see another problem solved!

Best of luck to you!

Dave ;)

Peter09
October 12th, 2010, 08:07 AM
Hi,
glad to see your up and running with your machine, apologies for the slightly confused solution (it was the end of a long day yesterday) and thanks to those who came in and clarified what need to be done.