PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Icon said networking disabled but my Internet is working



reychun
October 10th, 2010, 02:22 PM
And I can't upgrade to Ubuntu 10.10 because it said that there's a problem with my network connection. When there's none, since I am typing this now.

This is what ifconfig -a says about it:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 90:fb:a6:2f:35:78
inet addr:192.168.1.68 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::92fb:a6ff:fe2f:3578/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3593 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2355 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:3115765 (3.1 MB) TX bytes:281108 (281.1 KB)
Memory:f9fc0000-f9fe0000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:960 (960.0 B) TX bytes:960 (960.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:19

PLEASE HELP! I want to upgrade to 10.10.

Iowan
October 10th, 2010, 02:41 PM
I presume you got this (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1497078) problem solved (or it is a different computer). Did you use Network Manager or /etc/network/interfaces to set up interface?

(Although it shouldn't affect an upgrade :confused: )

reychun
October 10th, 2010, 03:34 PM
It wasn't really solved. I just disabled the wireless networks to make sure it went towards my ethernet. But it disrupts my update manager when I want to check... so some things are not downloaded.