PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mirage extension for Banshee help

fergiies
October 5th, 2010, 12:53 PM
Hi all,
I'm new to Ubuntu and Ubuntu forums, so please forgive me if this has been posted already. Before I switched, the only music player I ever used was itunes, and I really miss the Genius feature. Having done a bit of looking around, I downloaded Banshee. the mirage feature, though installed, does not show up in Banshee. Help?

Mike V
November 14th, 2010, 04:38 AM
Did you find how to bring up the playlist generator? I could not find it and it seems that no one else has this problem.

cheezbergher
November 14th, 2010, 05:36 PM
I've been having the same problem. I've never been able to get the Playlist Generator to show. Can anyone offer any advice for how to get this to work?

Cronos89
November 14th, 2010, 11:30 PM
I'm on your same situation. I've added the ppa for banshee so that i could get the latest stable releases of banshee and its extensions.

After a clean reinstall, i've activated Mirage. And the only change that happens is that Tools -> Mirage Playlist Generator appears. Other than that, there's no extra funcionality.

Currently Running Ubuntu 10.10

Cronos89
November 22nd, 2010, 08:55 PM
*bump

Remmelas
December 10th, 2010, 03:20 AM
I hate to 'me too', but, me too. Installed the extension, but doesn't behave as specified by the developers site. I have the option to 're-scan my collection', but no playlist generation abilities.

Ronqui
December 24th, 2010, 09:09 PM
This is somewhat tricky as Banshee is developing quite quickly these days. The procedure may be different for older versions, but for version 1.8.0, here is the recipe:

First ensure that the Mirage plugin is enabled. Go to Edit -> Preferences -> Extensions -> Community Extensions -> Mirage Similarity Engine and make sure it is checked. If you don't have any Community Extensions, install banshee-extension-mirage or banshee-community-extensions.