PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Web Page Programming

PyrexKidd
September 28th, 2010, 05:09 PM
I admin a heavy use FTP server that holds config files.

I has been necessary for me to develop several tools for maintaining those config files. I have built the tools in Perl and every thing is great. Except now it has become necessary for me to devolop a user interface for those tools.

I am very proficient with Java and Perl, and familiar with VB .NET and C#/++. None of the latter three have I ever heard of being used for web page programming.

What would be the most pain free way to develop a user interface? I am new to web page programming and am looking for the `best` solution. I've heard that Java embeds well in web pages, and a port from Perl to Java wouldn't be that difficult. I've also heard that PHP (which looks syntactically very similar to Perl and Java) would be the `best` route to go. While I am not totally against learning a new language, it might be more efficient for me to use one of the languages I am already familiar with.

Essentially I will need, one tool that will allow me to fill out several fields and click a button to generate config files (in the correct folder), one tool will need to be able to upload a CSV and then perform some processing on it, and a third tool will essentially be a web page based text editor.

Maybe I'm making things harder than they should be. Any suggestions/thoughts/opinions/feeling/jokes/general commentaries would be appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.

windependence
September 28th, 2010, 08:41 PM
I would pick php as it is syntactically similar to C++ and much lighter than java, plus it is widely used for web programming and also free and open unlike C# or <ugh> VB.

-Tim

SeijiSensei
September 28th, 2010, 09:59 PM
I suggest you stick with perl and add the mod_perl (http://perl.apache.org/) module to Apache if it's not already present.