PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] for a small office

fun_knights
September 23rd, 2010, 08:31 PM
I am very new to the LINUX environment.
And in dire need of information on setting up a small server/client network for a small business of about 25 clients.

Regards.

drdos2006
September 23rd, 2010, 09:29 PM
Here is a HOWTO which I found comprehensive and invaluable.

Are you using the most current version of this how-to?
Version numbers are located @ top right of this page. Latest versions are available at my homepage http://woodel.com
Under the Solutions tab
Setting up a Linux Server, Start to Finish, using Webmin. By Kevin Elwood

regards

scrooge_74
September 24th, 2010, 02:55 AM
Just depends what you want to do in the network

SeijiSensei
September 24th, 2010, 03:22 AM
Just depends what you want to do in the network

Well, perhaps we should ask fun_knights that very question, don't you think?

1) Will this be a mixed network with Linux, Windows, and/or Macs as the clients? Will you be running any Windows servers? Using Active Directory?

2) What applications will the users be running? How well do they co-exist with Linux? Will you have databases? Proprietary software? ("Vertical" applications for Windows like a manufacturing system, or integrated accounting packages, may only be happy in a Windows environment.)

3) What services does the server need to provide? Shared files? E-mail? An internal web server? Authentication? Print or fax services?

4) How do you plan to enforce security and privacy? Are there groups of users who will need to share files among themselves while not making them available to others? (Typically accounting and other critical business information is shared only among senior executives; for instance, the receptionist should probably not be able to read performance reviews.)